Mexican Style Tomatoes and Noodles

It’s been raining here for what seems like months. The past few days have been dark, gloomy, depressing and makes a person just want to eat junk food and watch Netflix all day. This was my plan for today until I checked my fridge…. and there was nothing in there! *Insert dramatic music* I didn’t even have any leftovers from the past few meals I have cooked. So, what do I do in a situation like this? No food in the house and not close to a restaurant for miles? I make tomatoes and noodles!

Now, this is a meal that only my family and I make because no one else has heard of it (and that’s ok because y’all gonna learn today). The ingredients are easy to remember because they’re in the name! All you really need is a can of diced tomatoes and a box of noodles. Cook the noodles, toss in the tomatoes, add salt and pepper, and it’s ready to go! This is a really quick and easy meal that I make all of the time when there’s not much at home to eat or I just have a craving for it. Also, this is one of my most versatile dishes because you can add so many different flavors to elevate it. Today, while I was hungry at home, I had some fresh jalapenos lying around and decided to make a new spin on something I’ve grown up with and came up with a Mexican/Latin inspired version of it.

Mexican Style Tomatoes and Noodles

  • 1/2 lb whole wheat penne pasta
  • 1 can no salt added diced tomatoes
  • 2 small fresh jalapenos
  • 1/2  medium onion
  • 2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon lime juice
  • 1 tablespoon kosher salt
  • 1 tablespoon black pepper
  • 1/2 tablespoon chili powder
  • 1/2 tablespoon cumin
  • 2 tablespoons garlic powder
  1. Bring water to a boil in a large pot and add a pinch of salt to it.
  2. Chop up the onion and jalapenos, keeping the seeds from the jalapeno if you want more heat. Combine in a small bowl with lime juice, salt, pepper, chili powder, cumin, garlic powder, and 1 tablespoon of olive oil.
  3. Add penne pasta to boiling water and cook according to package instructions. Drain the pasta and add back into the large pot. Quickly add tomatoes and other ingredients to the pot with the pasta and stir.
  4. Stir and let the pasta/sauce combination cook for about 2 minutes, or until the onions and jalapenos are to your desired texture.
  5. Turn off the heat on your stove and serve immediately.

IMG_2633

A few notes about this dish:

  1. The measurements for spices I gave in this recipe are not exactly what I added. I started off with roughly the amounts I listed and then I seasoned to meet my personal tastes. You should start off with a little of each and then you can add more to it if you want to.
  2. The onions and jalapenos cooked for about 2 minutes soften the vegetables, but still leave just a bit of crunch and add texture to the dish. If you want them to be on the crisp side, then cook your veggies for about 2 minutes. If you want the onion and jalapenos to be softer, then cook for about 4 minutes.
  3. The seeds of a jalapeno are what contain most of the heat in the jalapeno. If you want this dish to be spicy, leave the seeds in. If not, then scrape the seeds out of the jalapeno and just use the skin of the pepper.
  4. I try to use low sodium options as often as I can. If you don’t have any “no salt added” tomatoes, you can use the regular version. Just don’t add anymore salt because there will be plenty from those tomatoes.

 

Let me know what you think in the comments. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

