Review: O’Henry’s Tuscaloosa

As you all should know by now, I love coffee and I especially love quality coffee. I am always on the lookout for new and exciting coffee spots around Tuscaloosa or not far from here. I don’t mind getting my regular Starbucks fix, but it is nice to have something different. This is where O’Henry’s comes in.

I will be honest and say that this place has been open for quite a while and I have not had a chance to get there until this past weekend. Now, I am kicking myself in the teeth for not going sooner. This is arguably my favorite coffee spot in Tuscaloosa now! If you looked at the featured image of this post, you’d have seen that it is in the corner of a larger building complex and seems kind of hidden (and it basically is). It seems almost completely inconspicuous from the outside, but then you walk inside and see this sight. [Photo credits from the Twitter page of O’Henry’s Coffee.]

C5mYD42WYAAb5-M

Immediately walking inside, you feel as if you walked into someone’s kitchen and not into an actual business. It has that natural inviting and cozy feel to it that a great coffee spot should have. Kenny, my friend that I mentioned in my previous post because both events happened in the same day, and I walked in and were greeted by two very friendly and energetic employees. I am an adventurous type and I will try anything once. So, I asked each of them what their favorite drinks off the menu were. Both were knowledgeable about the menu and mentioned that the chai lattes or mocha lattes were their favorite. Then, one of them mentioned the drink I got called the Turtle Deluxe.

IMG_2531

It has a combination of caramel, hazelnut, and Ghiradelli chocolate flavors and I got it iced (because I love iced way more than hot coffee). All I can say is that this is a good cup of Joe. None of the flavors were overpowering each other and complemented each other well. In addition to this, it was not overly sweet and did not feel like it was just a cup of liquid sugar, which is a plus in my book. Finally, the ice used in this seemed to be almost hollow [I can’t verify this now but will after multiple visits here.] If so, the ice cubes helped keep the drink cold, but did not water down the drink and dilute the flavor at all.

Great atmosphere, friendly and knowledgeable staff, incredible coffee that is done right. Please, find your way down here as soon as possible and support this place!

5/5

 

 

Leave a Reply

